The First Day of School

As I was getting ready for work this morning I was thinking about school starting. As a Mom I look at the start of school with different eyes.  There’s the supply list, school uniforms to buy, new shoes, and the ever important book bag and lunch box.  

This morning though, I took myself back to the first day of school through a childs eyes.  I can remember barely sleeping the night before, anticipating seeing my friends for the first time in months!  Before we had iPads, cell phones or the Internet my summers were filled with books, bikes, and the occasional phone call from my BFF.  

Growing up we were poor, but at the time I didn’t realize that.  It wasn’t until I was much older that I realized how much my parents had to sacrifice to make sure we didn’t realize that.  We always had three meals, always had clean clothes, and always had love.  But there were two times a year that I was guaranteed a shopping trip or at least a new outfit.  One was Easter Sunday, the other was the first day of school.  

Oh how I loved back to school shopping! I usually went out of town with my Mom which was a treat in itself.  We would go to the nearest shopping mall and always out to lunch.  There’s no telling how long my parents had to save for those trips.  I would pick out one outfit for the first day, it was always the cutest one, and then I would get a pair of shoes, and the boring stuff like socks and underwear.  I can actually still remember some of those outfits.  

What I remember most about the first day, is waking up in the morning.  It was a new start to the school year, full of possibilities.  Mom would pack my lunch, and I’d carry my backpack full of blank paper and unsharpened pencils into the foggy morning.  Walking down our long driveway I’d wait on the bus, before most other kids were even awake.  It’s a feeling I will never forget, and if I clothes my eyes and really concentrate I can actually feel the morning air.  

Leave a Reply

